

2016 AGM MINUTES

<u>VENUE</u>: NATC AUDITORIUM December 28, 2016

<u>COMMITTEE MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE</u>: Sandy Cook, Sheryl Bolton, Ron Blancher, Denys Lawrence, Loreen Ruault, Mike Waberski, Scott Ross

No. of Meeting Attendees: 83

1. Meeting called to order: 4:15 pm

2. The Agenda was adopted as presented. M/S/C

3. Minutes of 2015 AGM: read by Sheryl Bolton

Minutes are posted on the website: www.sspoa.ca

Minutes of the 2015 SSPOA AGM accepted as read: M/S/C

4. Presidents Report: Sandy Cook

Ted Pleavin & Drew Eyre have retired.

Thank you to Patti Wild for looking after recycling at the mailboxes and the Adopt-a-highway program.

Utilities Committee was organized by Mike Waberski, first initiative Star Gas and overcharging.

SSMR Task Force was established, the SSPOA representative on the task force is Denys Lawrence

The SSPOA website was reconfigured during the fall of 2016, working towards better communication with the membership.

An initiative to establish a Block Watch program at Silver Star is being headed up by Scott Ross.

The possibility of establishing a composting at Silver Star is being looked into, headed up by Loreen Ruault.

5. Treasurer's Report and 2017 Budget: Sheryl Bolton

Financial Statement are posted on the website: www.sspoa.ca

Membership: \$5,010.00

Bank Balance as of Sept. 30, 2016: \$10,793.43

Financial Report and 2017 Budget accepted as read. M/S/C

6. Member Engagement Committee: Loreen Ruault / Mike Waberski

The focus has been on improvement of the database to enable better distribution of the News and the Newsletter.

Members who attended the AGM were registered to continue to develop the database. Website development, upgrade and the registration process focus during the fall of 2016

7. Utilities Committee Report: Mike Waberski

The SSPOA was an intervenor to the BC Utilities Commission to protest the Star Gas rates. A law firm has been engaged to prepare the final arguments. Legal fees will either be probono or covered by a grant from PACA.

If Residents have any concerns regarding the various utilities at Silver Star it is important to write letter with concerns. This will help to develop a case for change.

To date sales tax has been charged on Strata gas fees as it was considered commercial.

8. Nominations of Directors: Denys Lawrence

After providing a brief biography the following members were re-elected / elected to the Board of Directors for a two year term:

Ron Blancher

Cathy Clark

Sandy Cook

Loreen Ruault

Cate Cookson

Motion was made to destroy the ballots. M/S/C

9. Current Directors of the Board: (not up for election until 2017)

Mike Waberski

Denys Lawrence

Scott Ross

Sheryl Bolton

10. Meeting adjourned: 5:09 pm

Presentations by Guests and Open Forum

Block Watch - Bill Wilkie

RDNO - Mike MacNabb

Silver Star Mountain Resort – Ken Derpak

SSMR – Task Force – Ross Foden